Injury Wrap-Up! And Moving On

It’s been 14 weeks since I crashed on my bike, but who’s counting? I still have some discomfort around my right shoulder blade and collarbone, and my left ankle still hurts when I press on it, but overall I declare myself recovered. I’d like to take a moment to be thankful that broken bones heal so much faster than other issues like tendonitis or mystery pains that can hang around for so long. I figured publicly acknowledging the end of being injured would let me tie this experience up with a pretty bow and forget about it.

So that’s that. Onto more exciting things!

Over the past few weeks I’ve gotten back into yoga (mostly because my 10 class Groupon pass was close to expiring and I do not like to let those go to waste) and attempted to run regularly in preparation for the Haunted Hustle half marathon at the end of October. My running “training” has been a loose training plan considering I started at zero and I’m not doing the race for anything but to have fun, but my long run paces have been pretty average for me. Not surprisingly, my motivation is high and I’m itching to get into a committed and structured training cycle. Last weekend Eric ran a new PR at the Twin Cities Marathon, which sent me into a tailspin of researching winter marathons and flight costs.

1512669_3818390857979_8968732060978959370_n

Watching other people run marathons makes me want to run marathons.

As one might have predicted, my strength and fitness did not all return to Ironman training levels as soon as I started to run again. Which means I’ve got a little extra injury weight hanging around and no upper body strength. I plan to get into a regular strength routine and maybe swim a bit, but there’s that saying about best laid plans, so we’ll see what happens. As the weather turns colder and the days get shorter, running outside might be near impossible on weekdays, so strength training and swimming could be more likely to happen.

I guess this is all to say that I’m back! My Ironman dream is on hold for at least the next year, but I’ve got plenty more (running) races to tackle before I get back to spending all of my time on my bike.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

