8 Weeks Post Accident: “Clinically Healed” and a Big Decision

Eight weeks ago yesterday I crashed my bike on a long training ride for Ironman Wisconsin, breaking my collarbone and a rib and getting plenty of road rash. I withdrew from this year’s race and let go of my plans for this fall. After not using my right arm much for 3 weeks, then gradually increasing my range of motion over the next 2 weeks, I started to feel almost back to normal around six weeks or so. My road rash has healed into scars that will hopefully fade with time. And at 6 weeks post-injury my doctor declared my collarbone fracture “clinically healed.” I have a referral for physical therapy if I want it, but other than that, I am free to gradually return to normal use. Hallelujah.

I’ve spent the past two weeks getting back to running. The first week I ran for 30 minutes 5 times, and last week I “accidentally” ran 50 minutes instead of 40 while exploring a park near my hotel while in California for work. Yesterday I attempted a 6.2 mile loop around the lake near my apartment, and man it was challenging. This getting-in-shape thing is no joke, and at times like this I half understand why people give up on getting back in the habit of exercising. Luckily I know what awaits me on the other side!

CAM00589

Running in Mountain View, CA. I swear those are mountains back there.

Speaking of “the other side,” I’m now registered for two half marathons in the next few months and contemplating several more as part of a Marathons of Wisconsin challenge. First up is the Haunted Hustle Half Marathon in nearby Middleton, WI (not part of the challenge). The course goes near my first Madison apartment from this summer (oh yeah, I moved two weeks ago – great time to only be able to lift light things…), and there is a costume competition. I will certainly not be in prime racing shape, so I’m excited to use this race to celebrate running and fall, my favorite season.

CAM00592[1]

Football season at a football school means Jell-o Jiggler molds at the grocery store.

The big decision to be made: do I register for Ironman Wisconsin 2015? As soon as I withdrew from this year’s race, I made up my mind I’d register for 2015. But I’ll be traveling Monday-Thursday 2 weeks per month for my job for the foreseeable future. I’m not particularly drawn to the idea of long rides on a stationary bike at a gym and long runs on a treadmill. Plus forget pool access. I’m sure other people make it work, but it just doesn’t seem worth it for me. Instead I think I’ll proceed with my original plans for 2015: complete the Marathons of Wisconsin challenge and train hard for Grandma’s Marathon in June. I haven’t trained to really race a marathon since the fall of 2011, and I want to.

Once I am more comfortable in my job, I’ll revisit the idea of training for Ironman while traveling regularly. So for now, it’s not goodbye, but see you later to Ironman training. But we’ll see what actually happens when registration opens…

This entry was posted in Injury, Running, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

