Carolina Half Iron Training Recap Week 8

After Saturday’s marathon, I was glad this week was a recovery week in my triathlon training plan. I was a little sore on Monday (my rest day), and by Tuesday, I felt much better.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 40 minute Trainer Ride

Gradually making my way through Orange is the New Black.

Wednesday: 1300 yard swim; 6 mile run

I bought my 6 month unlimited pass for the swimming pool instead of continuing to buy 20-visit passes. This is getting real, guys.

I finally made it back to the Wednesday night Fullsteam run with Bull City Running. I was glad to see some familiar faces and catch up with the girls I saw so often over the summer. I’d like to get back into the habit of going to this run.

Thursday: 1400 yard swim; 48 minute Trainer Ride

More swimming, and more Netflix. I’m considering cancelling my cable, but I would be so sad to miss the Tour de France. Hmm.

Friday: 4 mile run

It was cold and windy and rainy, so I ran on the treadmill. The tv in the apartment gym was on a show about finding real life superheroes. They were showing a man who can conduct electricity through his body without feeling any pain. Strange.

Also, 6 months to race day!

Saturday: 43 mile bike ride + 20 minute run

In contrast to Thursday and Friday’s terrible weather, Saturday was absolutely beautiful. I rode in shorts and a short-sleeved jersey and may have developed the beginnings of a farmer tan. Next time I’ll remember the sunscreen. Also, lots of trees and branches had been knocked down in the storm, so most of the ride smelled like pine trees. No complaints from me!

Sunday: 9 mile run; 1700 yard swim

Another gorgeous day. I went for a run in shorts and a short-sleeve shirt! It was strange coming home from a run and then knowing I’d go swim in a few hours. Two-a-days are easy to schedule when I work out before and after work, but for some reason coming back from my run and doing chores and reading for a few hours to let my lunch digest so I could swim felt weird. I’ll need to get used to it.

Also, this week may have been the first time this training cycle I completed all my workouts as written (I swapped a few workouts around but more or less followed the plan). I’ll get off track again next weekend when I travel to DC to see my friend Lexi run the half marathon there, so I’ll savor the fact that I got everything accomplished in almost the right order this time.

Totals:

Swimming: 4400 yards

Cycling: 65ish miles

Running: 21 miles

Yoga/Foam Rolling/Strength: 15 minutes

I’ve really fallen off the boat when it comes to yoga and strength stuff. This week I’m implementing a Monday/Wednesday/Friday 15 minutes of abs and strength in the morning before other workouts. On Tuesday/Thursday I’ll do a short yoga sequence to wake up. Let’s see how this goes…

This entry was posted in Training Recap, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carolina Half Iron Training Recap Week 8

  1. Pam says:

    Allison!!! You’re a Tour de France fan! We watch religiously every year, and in my opinion, it’s definitely a reason to have cable. We have a favorite rider in Jens Voight (“shut up, legs!”) and I’ve heard he’s thrown his hat into the ring for riding again this year if his team sees fit. I’ve not met another person outside my family who shares my love of the Tour…so exciting!

Leave a Reply

