Training Recap (Week 11/14)

Here we are again, another weekly training recap. This week was busy with work and travel, and on top of everything, the marathon I planned to sign up for sold out the morning I planned to register. Great timing, right? I’m trying to decide whether to take it as a blessing because I won’t unnecessarily stress my IT band before Ironman training starts or if I should take it as an opportunity to run for a charity, something I’ve considered before but never followed through on. 

Monday: Swim 1000 yards a.m., Cycling class p.m.

After the weekend of travel and Sunday’s rest day, I needed to get in a swim from last week’s schedule.  Easy enough. After work, I snuck in one last class at RIDE before my two week new student pass ended. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my classes at the studio, and I’m glad I have a Groupon for 3 classes to use this spring.

I had planned to sign up for the Rock n Roll Raleigh marathon on Monday, but just as I went to sign up, I checked their Facebook page for any updates. And what do you know, it had apparently sold out an hour earlier. I spent the rest of the day getting excited by the challenge of fundraising for a charity.

Tuesday: Swim 900 yards a.m., Track workout ~ 6 miles p.m.

Swimming before work, the usual. These short swim workouts are nice and easy. I know swims will get longer soon.

So this track workout. I know it’s been cold everywhere, and I live in the south and thus haven’t been subjected to negative temperatures, but I have run in 20 degrees or below more times this winter than probably my whole life combined. Somehow I’m at a point where as long as the “feels like” temperature is in the double digits, I’m not even concerned. Durham was supposed to get a few inches of snow on Tuesday night, so I was excited for a potential track workout in the snow. For better or for worse, (is it hard to run on the track in the snow? I don’t know these things) it didn’t really start snowing until I was running home from the track. The snow was falling softly, and it was dark and peaceful out. Beautiful. And we did get a few inches of snow!

Wednesday: 45 minute trainer ride a.m., 900 yard swim p.m.

With the snow from Tuesday night, I was thankful for an indoor, no-driving workout in the morning. Later in the day I nervously ventured out to the pool, only to realize that the roads were completely clear and once I was out of my apartment complex I was fine.

Thursday: 2 hour trainer ride a.m.

In preparation for another weekend of travel, I got my long ride in while watching Downton Abbey.

Friday: 5.5 mile run a.m.

Friday was my birthday (woo!), so I took the day off work to travel up to Madison to visit Eric for the weekend. I was supposed to run 7 miles with the middle 5 faster, but I was worried about getting to the airport in time, so I cut it to 5.5 and ran the middle 3 fast.

Saturday: 1200 yard swim, 60 minutes pool-running

One of the best things about dating a fellow endurance athlete is that even when you’re only in town for a day and a half, there is always time for a workout. Eric is recovering from a stress fracture, so we went to the University of Wisconsin pool and I got my swim in while Eric pool ran. Instead of heading to the treadmill after my swim, I joined Eric for the rest of his pool running workout.

Not part of triathlon training, but we walked on a frozen lake!!! Maybe this is no big deal to northerners, but my mind was blown. College students had the cleared the 8 inches or so of snow off part of the ice and were doing some sort of hockey tournament. People were walking and skiing way out in the distance. I had never seen anything like it. So much about Wisconsin in the winter is novel to me, and it’s kind of fun.

CAM00405

This is a lake covered in snow for as far as I could see.

Sunday: Rest

Another day of travel.

Totals:

Swimming: 4000 yards

Cycling: 3.5 hours (60 miles-ish)

Running: 18 miles

Yoga: 0 again. I meant to do some yoga every week, and I’ve already fallen off the bandwagon. Time to get back on next week.

 

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!

This entry was posted in Running, Training Recap, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

