Pre-Race Prep: Battle at Buckhorn Sprint Triathlon

So, I have a sprint triathlon tomorrow – the Battle at Buckhorn! I’ve known about it, obviously, but it still snuck up on me. My triathlon training plan has a reverse triathlon workout of about the same distance on the schedule for Saturday, but I also need a race experience before my goal race, so I think this is an appropriate substitution. This morning I was driving to work and realized I should really think about what I need for each transition and oh right, put my Yankz laces in my shoes. It’s been over a year since I did a triathlon, and there are a lot of loose parts to keep track of. This post is as much a chance for me to make sure I’m thinking of everything as anything else. I’m feeling pretty out of triathlon as far as actual racing goes, so we’ll see how this goes…

BattleatBuckhornPrep

To wear:

  • Tri top
  • Tri shorts
  • Watch
  • Sandals

Swim:

  • Goggles
  • Back up goggles just in case
  • Timing chip strap

T1:

  • Towel
  • Bike – my first race on my P2!
  • Helmet
  • Bike shoes
  • Socks (one day I’ll do a sprint without socks but tomorrow is not that day)
  • Sunglasses
  • Profile Design Aero Bottle
  • Nalgene of water to transport the water to put in the Profile Design Aero Bottle, because that bottle doesn’t seal – I’m very much just getting used to this bike and all its requisite parts.
  • Flat repair kit under my seat – I don’t want to jinx myself but I hope I don’t have to use this!

T2:

  • Running shoes (with Yankz!)
  • Race number belt
  • Gu just in case I decide I need a little something

Post-race:

  • Short and t-shirt to change into for the drive home

As for my race plan and goals:

First, for the swim: I feel like I’ve put more effort into swimming over a longer period of time than I have in the past. I don’t really have a swim time to compare to, though I suppose I could look at past races. More than time, I want to settle into a good rhythm and minimize the amount of breast stroke I do. I tend to use breast stroke as a crutch in triathlon swims, and I’d like to be better about just putting my head down and swimming free style. I’m feeling confident in the pool, and the distance isn’t intimidating, so I just need to focus on breathing under control and swimming free style.

For the bike: As I said above, this is my first race on my tri bike, and I’m pretty nervous about it. I know I’ll need to slow down and come out of aero for the turns and generally make sure that I’m not cutting anyone off as I do so. Aside from not crashing my bike (alone or into anyone), my other goal is to not get a drafting penalty. Last May I did a sprint triathlon (I stopped after the bike because I couldn’t run at the time), and I got a drafting penalty. I have no idea when or how, but the course was crowded and I guess I just wasn’t being smart about it. Tomorrow I’ll have to be more careful to let people go when they pass me and to not come up close behind anyone. I’ll be annoyed if I get another. After finishing upright and without penalties, my goal is to ride hard and go fast! I’ve been riding a lot this summer and it would be fun to see how fast I can go for 17 miles without having to stop for traffic.

And finally for the run: My goal here is to start at a relatively aggressive pace (based on feel) and hang on. I cannot overstate how little I know about my abilities lately, but I hope I can start picking people off on the run and finish feeling like I worked as hard as I could.

And that is my race plan! Here’s to hoping I don’t do anything dumb…

This entry was posted in Race Recap, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pre-Race Prep: Battle at Buckhorn Sprint Triathlon

  1. Pingback: Week 12 Recap: First “official” training plan week | longruntohappiness

Leave a Reply

