So this is awkward… I quit the gym

Lesson #1 in hey what you write on the internet stays on the internet (just kidding about Lesson #1, I assume I’ve learned that lesson from facebook and twitter already). I publicly announced to the whole internet (because yes I assume the ENTIRE population of internet users reads my blog) that I joined a gym last Sunday. The gym I joined gives you two weeks to change your mind, which is nice of them. However, two weeks is just enough time for me to go crazy the first week taking a class any time I can and then by the second week when I realize I’m kind of busy with other things and can’t make it to every possible class, I decide this clearly won’t work for me. I think one more week would’ve given me a chance to see what I can really do each week and make it part of my routine.

Ah well. I could see it wasn’t going to work. The gym was great, no complaints, but it’s not for me. I just honestly don’t understand all the people on treadmills. Whyyy would you do that to yourself when it’s so pretty outside? So I went to a final (by final, I mean my second ever, ha) HIT class last night and then spin this morning, after which I quit.

Funny story: when I went to sign the forms to terminate my membership, the woman asked me why I wasn’t staying, which is a totally fair question. I said, well I swim and you don’t have a pool, and I run and ride my bike outside, so it’s just not worth it for me. And she asked, even when it’s really hot you’re going to run outside? For some reason that was such a silly question to me. Um yes I will, just as I have since I was a child doing soccer camps in the middle of the day during Georgia summers. Do people really find a treadmill more appealing than running at 6 or 7 in the morning outside in the summer? I would love to hear from these people, but I think we would end up just agreeing to disagree.

Anyway, so that’s the story of how I quit the gym.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So this is awkward… I quit the gym

  1. Pingback: A Weekend of Racing | longruntohappiness

  2. Pingback: I Joined A Gym – Take 2 | longruntohappiness

Leave a Reply

