Things I’ve Bought Because People Blogged About Them #5: lululemon Groovy Run Short and running socks

For today’s post, let’s remember that this is my blog so I can change the rules of things if I want to. No blogs I read specifically mentioned these shorts (that I know of), but Gina at Walk To The Mailbox makes all lululemon clothes look cute, and her blog was one of the very first running blogs I found. She only posts when she runs a marathon (she’s on her way to run 50 plus DC), but her posts are quite thorough and encompass everything going on in her life throughout the training cycle for that race.

In the spring of 2011, I was getting settled after my first few months in a new city and at my first “real” job. I had qualified for Boston in the fall and spent the winter running and getting ready for several spring races in DC, including the National Half Marathon (which still stands as my half marathon PR) and the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. I decided, as every young woman does (right?), that I needed some cute new running clothes. As I mentioned in my Oiselle Roga Shorts entry, my running shorts collection consisted of (and kind of still does) discount shorts from race expos and a few Nike Tempo shorts that are great for walking around campus but not my favorite for long runs. In case you’re wondering, my running shirt collection exclusively contains technical race shirts (excluding any fleece or zip-up pullovers – if only races gave those away…), and I haven’t really found the need to rectify that situation yet.

So, after reading through all Gina’s posts and admiring the cute lululemon outfits, I made my first lululemon purchase at their store down the street from my former office building in DC. Coincidentally, this happened to be the week leading up to the National Marathon and Half Marathon, so lululemon was offering all running apparel at a discount. I’m not sure if all stores do that for local races or what the formal policy is, but I appreciated it!

I bought purple Groovy Run Shorts and socks similar to these. I’m wearing the shorts in the photo below from the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler.

In front of the Washington Monument. Sometimes I miss that city.

In front of the Washington Monument. Sometimes I miss that city.

So did these shorts become my new go-to long run shorts? Sadly, no. The material is a bit thick for long warm runs and the crotch zone (is there a more appropriate term for that?) is a bit shorter/higher than I’d prefer, but it’s also possible I’m wearing the shorts higher than they’re intended to be worn. Also, I happen to have a narrower waist for my hips, so even though I tie the drawstring in the shorts, they always feel a bit like they’re sliding down. (But they don’t create a muffin top, so there’s that!)

On the upside, while I had mentally assigned these shorts to the category of “appropriate for 4 miles or fewer,” I packed them for a post-work group run last night and wore them for a 7 mile run without noticing any of the issues I listed above. Admittedly they rubbed between my legs a bit, but at some point you can’t blame the shorts for that, and anyway, I could’ve used Body Glide. Since I’m running casually right now, perhaps I’ll do a more thorough inventory of which shorts are good enough for what distance runs. I know you’re just dying to read that.

As for the socks, they smoothly entered my rotation with little fanfare. Good socks, no issues. I’ve been hesitant to buy any other running apparel from lululemon (like I said, all my short and long sleeve shirts are from races and I already have too many of them), but their shorts continue to catch my eye. Some are too short, some are too thick. If only I could design my perfect pair of running shorts. (Or afford to buy one of everything that exists until I find The One.) Sigh.

This entry was posted in Product Review, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

