Pre-Race Prep!

It’s Race Day Eve! Tomorrow morning I’m running the Tobacco Road Half Marathon in Cary, NC. It starts at 7am. Yikes.

Image

Women running the full marathon got a purple (aka best color) shirt! Jealous.

I initially registered for this race as a bit of a warm-up for Boston after being away from racing for about a year due to injury (more on that one day). I was worried I’d get too excited and… I don’t know but freak out somehow at Boston with all the energy and adrenaline (which will probably happen anyway, let’s be serious). My boyfriend (Eric) and I ended up running a half in Hilton Head in February, registering just 3 days before the race, so I’ve already officially been re-introduced to road racing. That race, which was just to “test my fitness because my plan says to run 13 miles this weekend” went better than anticipated and I came close to my PR and ran my first EVER negative split, so I’m feeling a little extra pressure for tomorrow to execute well. Of course, my overall goal is to finish healthy so I finally get to run Boston this year after qualifying in the fall of 2010 (sooo much more on that to come in a later post).

As for my pre-race prep, I did a short shake-out run this morning, went to packet pick-up and put my feet up while catching up on Downton Abbey Season 3. Thanks to facebook/twitter, I know how the season ends, but I still just really like watching it. Eric and I went out for some yummy pasta dinner, I’ve pinned my number on my shirt, and we put together our game plan for driving/parking for the morning. Time to squeeze in a little time with my foam roller before bed!

Congrats to all the Rock n Roll USA (or National, as I still prefer to think of it) marathon and half marathon runners today, and good luck to everyone running Tobacco Road!

This entry was posted in Race Recap, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

